Home > Music > Miley Cyrus Wonder World Tour Concert Review

Miley Cyrus Wonder World Tour Concert Review

Miley Cyrus Tour Portland Spectacle

Miley Cyrus Tour Portland Spectacle

If there was one thing that was made perfectly clear at the Miley Cyrus Wonder World Contert Tour debut in Portland, it’s that Hannah Montana is no more. Miley has clearly hit a turning point in her life and career where she’s stopped being a child actress performer and is starting to explore her blossoming adulthood. It’s that transition when a teenager slams their door and instead of hearing Avril Lavigne emanating from the room, you hear Led Zeppelin. This period of time is exciting, wonderful, awful, painful and confusing, which in many ways is captured in the immense spectacle that is Miley’s concert tour.

Changing costumes with almost every number, Miley seemed to be trying on dozens of different looks, perhaps to see which best reflected herself. Musically this frenetic change of styles was also apparent. The show bounced around from rock to pop to ballad and then into songs which seemed to blend all those styles into one. It’s entertaining to watch but you get the real sense that Miley isn’t quite sure who exactly she’s becoming.

Miley was very clear about who she isn’t. In the hour and a half set, Miley barely touched any of the songs which made her a success, only flirting with the Hannah Montana library with a very sexed-up version of Girls Night Out and a nice rendition of The Climb. She seemed to steer very far away from her signature Hannah Montana theme song, something I think really disappointed the rather young audience.

There’s no denying that the Miley Cyrus concert tour is a grand spectacle. Each song seemed to be accompanied by some sort of massive set piece and with ten dancers and constant and elaborate choreography; the show was a constant feast for the eyes. Miley Cyrus deserves a tremendous amount of credit for this accomplishment. The complexity of the staging and the sheer amount of choreography (not to mention the constant costume changes) would be a huge challenge even for the most seasoned of performers. Miley Cyrus tackles this aspect of her show masterfully and should be commended for it. Unfortunately, musically she didn’t match the grand spectacle. It’s not that Miley is a poor performer – when she hits the mark, she’s got a solid voice, great stage presence and wonderful connection with the audience. I just don’t think the bulk of her material is all that great. There are some real stand-outs among her work including her new hit Party in the USA, The Climb (the theme song from The Hannah Montana Movie) and When I Look at You (which is the theme from her upcoming 2010 film, The Last Song). The rest of the songs she performed never really break out and tended to fall a little on the dull side.

Miley Cyrus put to rest any question that she can rock, with a fantastic cover of Joan Jett And The Blackhearts ‘I Love Rock N’ Roll’ which she sang while riding a motor cycle that was lifted up over the audience and flown through the air. It was frustrating to hear that she does have the talent, even to rock, but not the real material to back that up. Another frustrating moment came during a transition between numbers where Miley and the dancers teased with a short bit of the Thriller dance; I would have loved to see her cover Michael Jackson, but the number was only a quick tease and Miley did not sing.

Throughout the 90 minute show, Miley changed her costumes a dizzying 10 times. Most of the costumes were skin tight and accentuated her breasts. This sexually forward side to Miley might have been a bit of a shock to the parents of the younger kids in the audience who came to see ‘Hannah Montana’. My daughter, who is 10, even commented on how much Miley showed off the fact that she’s got breasts (it was that noticeable). Despite this obvious display of her blossoming sexuality, Miley kept her show fairly tame. Rather than shock or put off her audience in some sort of rebellion, she simply declared her womanhood and burgeoning sexuality.

Miley Cyrus on Tour catches a young artist at a real intersection in her career. There seems to be a dynamic performer emerging from the bubblegum pop child star she once was. Hopefully after this tour she’ll be able to have some real time to work with a producer and song writers who can see her talent and bring out the best of it, because without a solid foundation of music under her, all the spectacle in the world won’t be enough to ignite her career and carry her beyond Hannah Montana.

For More info on Miley Cyrus Wonder World Tour:

  1. Dan-Fabian
    September 15, 2009 9:24 am | #1

    Haha, so you think "The Climb" is one of her best work? That song just doesn't it her voice, she sounds like a cat who has a cold while singing that song. I don't hate Miley, but she shouldn't have been given "The Climb" (which is a horrible song, by the way).

  2. September 15, 2009 9:28 am | #2

    No, I don't think The Climb is her best work, but at the concert is was one of the better songs she performed. Many of the other songs weren't even close in terms of the level of that song, which I thought was OK.

  3. Tonya Sults
    September 15, 2009 11:24 am | #3

    WOW! Miley can rock! I am a 34 yo mother and I am eager to check out Miley's show! She is getting better and better. Amazing!

  4. Marsha
    September 15, 2009 12:36 pm | #4

    I thought the concert was great. So big deal she showed some cleavage. She's a 17 year old girl that's what they do. She could be doing alot worse. I thought the show was a let down to the younger fans who don't get that she isn't Hannah Montana anymore. My daughter and her BFF were sad that she didn't sing some Hananh songs but loved the show. I thought it had as much bang for the buck as some of the other "big" name shows I have seen. I thought it was great that she was singing instead of entertaining as Britney does. No lipsyncing. I wish Miley a long and sucessful career.

  5. September 15, 2009 12:56 pm | #5

    im going to see her in december, cant wait!
    To be honest it did say it was a "miley cyrus tour" not "hannah montana". She was ment to do songs from her breakout album but now shes done more songs since then so done a mixture. What did you expect shes 16 going on 17 she can wear what she likes. parents should expect that she wasnt going to be all cute and sweet like hannah montana cause this tour was about MILEY CYRUS not hannah montana. Shes not 13 anymore, she almost an adult. Theres some younger kids that wear alot worse than that. Mileys more mature than most kids are today

  6. Suz
    September 15, 2009 2:54 pm | #6

    Good review, but no mention of Metro Station – any good?

    Miley's audience has a bedtime – I see you note she gives a ninety minute show – how much time does her bro's band add to the show – if it starts at 7, what time are we getting out of there?

    Thanks!

  7. September 15, 2009 2:59 pm | #7

    Metro Station was HORRIBLE. My daughter called the lead singer (Miley's Older Brother) "Old, Tired and Creepy".

  8. September 15, 2009 3:06 pm | #8

    Show started at 7, Miley went on at 8, ended just before 9:30

  9. Katie
    September 15, 2009 10:21 pm | #9

    This concert is entitled "Miley Cryus", not "Hannah Montana". There was a show a few years back you should have gone to that if that's what you were looking for. Metro Station can come off a bit loud and "creepy-looking" but they do have some good music. Miley recently stated on her CNN interview that the show is intended more for kids her age, an audience that can relate to the songs she sings and appreciate the opening act as well. "The Climb", "Party in the USA", and "When I look at you" are all great examples of Miley's talented young career. She is only 16, and the world expects so much from her. For the younger crowd though, she does include "Hoedown Throwdown" and "Let's Get Crazy" which are two of her popular Hannah Montana songs from the hit movie.

  10. Dawn
    September 16, 2009 10:40 am | #10

    What kind of souvenirs were sold at the concert (what items, and approximately how much were they)???

  11. rebecca davenport
    September 16, 2009 1:43 pm | #11

    OKAY, WHOEVER SAID METRO STATION WAS HORRIBLE is completley wrong.
    they're amazing, &&& the reason im going to see her with them on november 4th.

  12. September 16, 2009 3:15 pm | #12

    That would be me. I can appreciate you may like them, but live they were not good.

  13. Kristin Dickerson
    September 17, 2009 12:52 am | #13

    I heard that Metro Station starts at 7 pm and plays for thirty minutes. Then there is a thirty minute intermission, so Miley goes on at 8 PM if she's on time. It'll be over around 9:30.–Kristin We're going on Friday in Oalkand, CA

  14. Annie Segal
    September 17, 2009 12:18 pm | #14

    Just saw her at Tacoma Dome last night. I have to say I was definitely impressed with the different sets, costumes (yes, some costumes didn't have much to them at all), and the music. My 6 year old daughter LOVED it! I agree with Geoff that Metro Station was really bad. Too loud, and the lead singer is covered in tatoos and very creepy looking. The only reason they're on tour with Miley is because they're related, otherwise they'd be relegated to small, dark, smoke filled no-name venues….which is really where they should be. Skip Metro Station and go for Miley….you'll have a great time!

  15. Mike Johnson
    September 17, 2009 1:23 pm | #15

    Just saw her at Tacoma Dome, she has GOT to learn how to do more than toss her hair around on stage and she needs better music to sing, the material just doesn't do her justice. Nice sets, costuming, choreography, etc, and if you could get her to stop flinging her hair constantly and give her better songs to sing (and LOSE that Metro Station opening act altogether, what a bad way to start the evening!) it could be a winner tour.

  16. Anelim
    September 17, 2009 1:37 pm | #16

    @Dawn

    T-Shirts $35
    Bandanas $15
    Glow-Sticks $10

    AND – I agree with Geoff, totally nailed it.

  17. Michelle Kelly
    September 17, 2009 6:14 pm | #17

    @Dawn
    Books were 20.00
    Posters 10.00

  18. Kathy
    September 18, 2009 8:39 am | #18

    Was the whole ticketless entry a pain – or did it flow pretty smoothly?

  19. Mom of a 10 year old
    September 18, 2009 10:48 am | #19

    We took our 2 10 year olds to the Portland opening concert. The kids loved the concert but didn't see much of what they expected. I have to say that the sexed-up Miley is too advanced for little girls now. And the hair tossing got a little old, but it is fun to see her coming into her own as a performer. Too many costume changes, and not enough variety in the music. Overall, I'd say it was fun, but it was sad to see so many hundreds of little girls- ages 5-10 that were not expecting the constant barrage of rock and tight clothes, tattoos and prevocative dance. Oh well.

  20. Mom of a 10 year old
    September 18, 2009 10:51 am | #20

    PS: The expense of a concert like this was amazing. The programs were $20 each!

  21. Dad of a 7 year old
    September 18, 2009 4:02 pm | #21

    Miley Cyrus betrayed the trust of many parents who brought their young girls there looking for good clean entertainment. Shame on you Miley!

  22. Miranda
    September 18, 2009 4:55 pm | #22

    What kind of shirt designs did they have?

  23. An older fan John
    September 18, 2009 6:25 pm | #23

    Three different designs on black, and one on white. In Tacoma, they had some leftover t-shirts from her last tour. I had not realized Portland's arena layout is not very merch friendly. AEG sold tons in Portland, but it was nothing like Tacoma where the line for the main merch area was 20 deep for 2 solid hours and 15 deep while Metro Station was playing. Plus they opened up an auxiliary site indoors that had a long line from 3pm on. They had satellite sites upstairs that were selling pretty well too. The Jonas brother's merch sold well, but was not in the same league or neighborhood as Miley's.

    To clear up some misconceptions. The tour name changed a few times, I think, because they didn't want to call it the "No more Hannah Montana" Tour. That was the plan for some time. That's why the BOBW Tour was such a big deal. Kid's knew, on some level, that it was a once in a lifetime event. Only two songs were Hannah Montan songs: "Let's get crazy" and "Spotlight." The rest were Miley Cyrus or Miley Stewart songs: Miley songs.

    This tour is also a once in a lifetime event. I have spent frustrating hours trying to convince people that Miley is, at heart, a rocker. Listen to her interviews; look at her family. Her next tour will probably be all rock with a few ballads.

    We fans like it when she throws her hair around; she even did it in slow motion in her movie.

    So much of her material is autobiographical that it has special meaning to her fans that non-fans won't get. When she sang obsessed, I would have thrown a Nick Jonas T-shirt up on stage if I had one. Even the fun song, "Party in the USA" is about her experiences.

    There isn't the space here to explain why I'm such a fan, but her career is still building and getting bigger. Her music is charting higher, faster; her movies gain bigger and bigger audiences. Miley Rocks!!!

    P.S. Check out her singing "Party in the USA" on the VH1 Divas sight. Fun, Fun, Fun. Also, her duet with Sheryl Crow was fantastic. Miley can do Pop, Rock, Ballads, and Country, but apparantly thinks she needs The Black Eyed Peas frontman's street cred to do break dancing.

  24. An older fan John
    September 18, 2009 6:50 pm | #24

    P.S. If Miley could have found a break in her schedule in 2008, we might have heard more Hannah Montana songs, but too late now. You can't make her un-grow up. Most kids and fans I know are accepting of this. It's some parents who have the unrealistic expectations. I'm going to miss Hannah Montana too, but how cruel would it be to make her put back on the wig?

  25. Mom in Charlotte, NC
    September 18, 2009 7:13 pm | #25

    I bought tickets for my 5 year old daughter and her best friend to go see this concert in Charlotte on Nov. 24th! and I must say that I am definetly a little bit nervous about what the concert. These girls don't really know "Miley Cyrus" they know "Miley Cyrus is Hannah Montana." Since you have been to the concert do you think that it is appropiate for their age?

  26. VERY disappointed mom..
    September 18, 2009 9:10 pm | #26

    Went to the concert in Tacoma..WOW…not at ALL what we had hoped for! I was SO embarressed….The disappointment I felt was shared by THOUSANDS in the arena! To say she is a "rocker" or just growing up is a huge cop out! She looked and acted sleazy & slutty. Miley seemed to forget that the arena was filled the same LITTLE girls that put her on top in the first place. NOT the role model she SHOULD have been to them for sure. We have seen the Jonas Bros. & Demi Lovato this summer & THOROUGHLY enjoyed their concerts…great wholesome entertainment that showcased their immense talent. Demi sang some amazing rock songs & didn't feel the need to look or dance like she was Vegas pole dancer. WHERE is her momma & daddy?? I am shocked they gave their stamp of approval on this tour! If you follow Miley on twitter ( as my kids do) you would agree she is sending a VERY mixed message with her behavior on this tour. She sends out messages about that days bible reading & then acts like THAT on stage??? I'm confused…as were thousands of other people!! If you haven't yet purchased tickets to an upcoming concert..DON'T! I didn't go expecting Hannah Montana..I DID expect to see a decent talented young lady wearing fashionable & appropriate attire though!

  27. VERY disappointed mom..
    September 18, 2009 9:12 pm | #27

    @Dad of a 7 year old It was embarressing! I couldn't agree more! DOUBLE shame on you Miley!

  28. VERY disappointed mom..
    September 18, 2009 11:20 pm | #28

    @Mike Johnson

    @Mike Johnson
    The hair flinging was out of control~~~~

  29. Kimberly
    September 18, 2009 11:26 pm | #29

    I took my seven year old daughter to the concert in Tacoma. She was not disappointed one bit that Miley didn't sing any of her old stuff!

    I completely disagree with the above article. I think she really showed who she is and who she is becoming during this concert. She is growing into a woman and is extremely talented. I have been to many concerts and this was one of the best I have ever seen. Period.

  30. Kimberly
    September 18, 2009 11:30 pm | #30

    Are you serious? What did you expect from a 16 almost 17 year old? Unbelievable how judgemental you are. The tattoo comment…pretty rediculous too.

    @Mom of a 10 year old

  31. September 19, 2009 12:34 am | #31

    @Kristin Dickerson

    I went to the show on Sept 18 in Oakland,CA and it was awesome. I'll blog about my night later on but for now, here's the song list in order (subject to change since Miley can do that if she wants to!)

    1) Breakout
    2) Start All Over
    3) 7 Things
    4) Kicking and Screaming
    5) Bottom of the Oceam
    6) Fly on the Wall (Something awesome happens!)
    7) Let's Get Crazy
    8) Hoedown Throwdown
    9) These Four Walls
    10) When I Look at You
    11) Obsessed
    12) Spotlight
    13) GNO
    14) I Love Rock & Roll
    15) Party in the USA
    16) Wake Up America
    17) Simp-le Song
    18) See You Again
    19) The Climb

    Good show but too many slow songs and only Hannah songs! TISNF! My grade B+

    Let me know if these are the right songs for her show.-RP

  32. Miley fan
    September 19, 2009 6:16 am | #32

    You sure couldn't tell any of the kids were disappointed by the decible level in the arena, or the smiles, or the patience while waiting in line to buy souvenir t-shirts. This was a great kids party!

  33. Count123
    September 19, 2009 6:29 am | #33

    To Mom in Charlotte,
    You could call the venue for the time, but Miley will probably start at eight o'clock. Your child should save her energy for Miley's part of the show because she does a lot of cool stuff your kid will want to be awake and alert to see. Trace's part of the show is more geared to teenagers etc. and children that young won't know who he is anyway.

  34. Taiwan's fans
    September 19, 2009 7:04 am | #34

    That Miley said before then?
    Miley Cyrus Hannah Montana afraid of giving up the identity of this screen idols would result in fans did not like her.

    Miley cyrus: "last no longer withstand the Hannah Montana wig and playing a role. If there is no one knows if, when the Hannah Montana might be a bit better; I know to start their own when a true Maili very difficult, certainly encountered a lot of setbacks. but it does not matter, at least I write these songs is very important to me and I also mentioned that I would like to express their hearts the words. "

  35. VERY disappointed mom..
    September 19, 2009 10:10 am | #35

    If you are thinking she will be more like the Miley in her recent movie or as seen on Disney Channel ( shows & commercials) then you WON'T see THAT Miley at ALL! I am serious…I heard thousands of parents & kids expressing their disappointment as they left the arena on the way to the parking lot…Your 5 year old will be seriously disappointed. Watch some of the youtube videos of the concert…you can then decide for yourself. @Mom in Charlotte, NC

  36. September 19, 2009 10:38 am | #36

    @Kathy the whole ticketless thing was a non issue. Oddly enough it wasn't really noteworthy. The only thing I think that was negative about it was that even though they cut out scalpers they still kept ticket prices (even for the highest up seats) way too expensive.

  37. September 19, 2009 10:43 am | #37

    @Mom in Charlotte, NC I don't think there's really anything explicit in the concert, Miley is just dressed very 'sexy'. I agree with @Count123 and skip the opening band. They were just awful, also coming at 7:30/45 you'll miss some of the lines.

    I'd just prep the kids and tell them that Hannah Montanah's growing up and singing new songs as Miley Cyrus. So they don't expect to see HM. It's a spectacular visual show so I'm sure they'll enjoy the spectacle.

  38. Eric
    September 19, 2009 11:32 am | #38

    Miley shouldn't spread her legs so much. On stage or off stage. She's getting a bit full of herself.

  39. Lisa
    September 19, 2009 8:49 pm | #39

    OKay, I think some of you are becoming shocked with Miley too much. I think all of you parents are in shock of her performance and clothing because it seems like you don't have a teenager and that you spend too much time with your young child.

    Teenagers these days do that stuff. They dress, act and dance similar to Miley! Just be grateful that she doesn't cuss in public. She is just a 16 yr old and is still growing up. Let her learn from her mistakes because she is not an adult yet.

    I am 17 yrs old and sometimes i am not shocked what she does because they are similar to what i do and wear, but i am learning from my mistakes.

    Parents, she is also showing the real her out to the world. I bet that not alot of you parents are calm and relaxed all the time just because you have kids. I bet that inside, you guys are crazy, fun, flirty, etc. Just let Miley grow up and get used to it. In a couple of years, if she doesn't change who she is, then say what you want to say, but now, is not the right time.
    Also tell your kids that she is being herself, but don't do everything she does and follow what you want to do, but with limitations.

    Thats all i wanted to say! Also does anyone know the designs on the shirts?

  40. Taiwan's fans
    September 20, 2009 1:45 am | #40

    I think Miley is a fan of Miley has two kinds of identity should be so this is her features.
    Miley the attractions is her two identities every star has its own characteristics.
    So Miley can there be so many fans like her fans would like to see the identity of Hannah Montana Miley discarded do? While Miley needs to grow but he has to maintain the identity of Hannah Montana Did not that much better? Miley should also think about how her fans are come.
    While some people like to just Miley, but she is more than half have two kinds of people are seeking the identity of her! ~

  41. Lisa
    September 20, 2009 8:11 pm | #41

    how much are t-shirts at her concert?

  42. Count123
    September 21, 2009 8:15 am | #42

    From memory: t-shirts $30 (one $35)
    poster $10
    keychain $8
    bag ?
    program $20
    light $10

  43. Count123
    September 21, 2009 8:28 am | #43

    News from San Jose California:
    After the concert there were hundreds of fans waiting outside where she leaves to see her go. They put her in a van and took her by the crowd (to her hotel? once around the park?) so the crowd would disperse. I know it would be a security risk, but if people knew what hotel she was staying in, the route might have been lined from the venue all the way to the hotel with Miley fans! Awesome!!!

  44. Heather
    September 21, 2009 4:11 pm | #44

    @Dad of a 7 year old
    I have to say…I took my 9 year old for her birthday. Miley and her dancing is way too much. I get that she doesn't want to be a "kid" anymore, but really? Some of the dance moves that she does on stage is short of dry humping the floor. At other times her dancing with her microphone stand and other movements is completely inappropriate. If she was my kid, she'd be grounded! Moves like she performed on stage was crude and disgusting and she doesn't need to do these things to prove she's "blossoming into an adult". What kind of an adult does she want to be? She's one step away from pole dancing…oh, oops she's already don't that! She needs a good spanking, if you ask me, and someone should have set boundaries on her a long time ago. She has turned the corner of being a good role model into being something I don't want my daughter to look up to – she looked more like a stripper dancing around the stage than a respectable performer. It was embarrassing and she should be ashamed of herself. She really does owe her fans an apology, and she needs to maybe do some soul searching and figure out if she really wants to be this person she's turning into because it's ugly.

  45. DanielleCali
    September 22, 2009 10:58 am | #45

    Wow – didn't all of you notice that this tour is entitled "Miley Cyrus" – not HM?? You are complaining about Miley's clothes and all this – when you knew from the get go that it is a Miley concert – not HM. I am also guessing that this is not the first time you've seen her lately…she has done quite a few performances before this concert where her clothes had the same style (as well as her dancing) – as the ones she performed the concert in. Bottom line is that Miley is 16 – not 3, not 5, not 8 – 16! You cannot expect her to dress and act like a little girl forever. Just like your kids – she has to grow up..and when did it become a bad thing to show leg? It's not like her butt or boobs were hanging out or anything.

    I took my 8 year old daughter to the Oakland CA show – and we loved it! Metro Station was awesome! And they don't look creepy – they are a rock band – who were you expecting? The Wiggles? Come on people – lighten up.

    We will definitely be going to see her when she comes back to NorCal.

  46. m
    September 22, 2009 4:13 pm | #46

    she didn't do a full cover of michael jackson because she knows mj fans will bash her for it. She did a good 30-sec thriller dance tribute and it was great

Comment pages
1 2 3 6
  1. September 15th, 2009 at 00:01 | #1
  2. September 15th, 2009 at 00:02 | #2
  3. September 15th, 2009 at 01:34 | #3
  4. September 15th, 2009 at 06:18 | #4
You must be logged in to post a comment.