Home > Music > Miley Cyrus Wonder World Tour Concert Review

Miley Cyrus Wonder World Tour Concert Review

Miley Cyrus Tour Portland Spectacle

Miley Cyrus Tour Portland Spectacle

If there was one thing that was made perfectly clear at the Miley Cyrus Wonder World Contert Tour debut in Portland, it’s that Hannah Montana is no more. Miley has clearly hit a turning point in her life and career where she’s stopped being a child actress performer and is starting to explore her blossoming adulthood. It’s that transition when a teenager slams their door and instead of hearing Avril Lavigne emanating from the room, you hear Led Zeppelin. This period of time is exciting, wonderful, awful, painful and confusing, which in many ways is captured in the immense spectacle that is Miley’s concert tour.

Changing costumes with almost every number, Miley seemed to be trying on dozens of different looks, perhaps to see which best reflected herself. Musically this frenetic change of styles was also apparent. The show bounced around from rock to pop to ballad and then into songs which seemed to blend all those styles into one. It’s entertaining to watch but you get the real sense that Miley isn’t quite sure who exactly she’s becoming.

Miley was very clear about who she isn’t. In the hour and a half set, Miley barely touched any of the songs which made her a success, only flirting with the Hannah Montana library with a very sexed-up version of Girls Night Out and a nice rendition of The Climb. She seemed to steer very far away from her signature Hannah Montana theme song, something I think really disappointed the rather young audience.

There’s no denying that the Miley Cyrus concert tour is a grand spectacle. Each song seemed to be accompanied by some sort of massive set piece and with ten dancers and constant and elaborate choreography; the show was a constant feast for the eyes. Miley Cyrus deserves a tremendous amount of credit for this accomplishment. The complexity of the staging and the sheer amount of choreography (not to mention the constant costume changes) would be a huge challenge even for the most seasoned of performers. Miley Cyrus tackles this aspect of her show masterfully and should be commended for it. Unfortunately, musically she didn’t match the grand spectacle. It’s not that Miley is a poor performer – when she hits the mark, she’s got a solid voice, great stage presence and wonderful connection with the audience. I just don’t think the bulk of her material is all that great. There are some real stand-outs among her work including her new hit Party in the USA, The Climb (the theme song from The Hannah Montana Movie) and When I Look at You (which is the theme from her upcoming 2010 film, The Last Song). The rest of the songs she performed never really break out and tended to fall a little on the dull side.

Miley Cyrus put to rest any question that she can rock, with a fantastic cover of Joan Jett And The Blackhearts ‘I Love Rock N’ Roll’ which she sang while riding a motor cycle that was lifted up over the audience and flown through the air. It was frustrating to hear that she does have the talent, even to rock, but not the real material to back that up. Another frustrating moment came during a transition between numbers where Miley and the dancers teased with a short bit of the Thriller dance; I would have loved to see her cover Michael Jackson, but the number was only a quick tease and Miley did not sing.

Throughout the 90 minute show, Miley changed her costumes a dizzying 10 times. Most of the costumes were skin tight and accentuated her breasts. This sexually forward side to Miley might have been a bit of a shock to the parents of the younger kids in the audience who came to see ‘Hannah Montana’. My daughter, who is 10, even commented on how much Miley showed off the fact that she’s got breasts (it was that noticeable). Despite this obvious display of her blossoming sexuality, Miley kept her show fairly tame. Rather than shock or put off her audience in some sort of rebellion, she simply declared her womanhood and burgeoning sexuality.

Miley Cyrus on Tour catches a young artist at a real intersection in her career. There seems to be a dynamic performer emerging from the bubblegum pop child star she once was. Hopefully after this tour she’ll be able to have some real time to work with a producer and song writers who can see her talent and bring out the best of it, because without a solid foundation of music under her, all the spectacle in the world won’t be enough to ignite her career and carry her beyond Hannah Montana.

For More info on Miley Cyrus Wonder World Tour:

  1. Mom
    November 6, 2009 7:09 pm | #1

    As I read these reviews, I am discourged by the effects of this young artist. I see that young people do follow her and look up to her which is the problem with the quick change to Miley. The Hannah Montana children are going to follow Miley because they loved the character of Hannah and parents did not see the concern in that because of the purity of the Hannah character. As a parent though I see the tattoos(which may have been fake, the way of dress at the concert, and the sexual dancing and I do not want that for my child. I wanted the pure and innocent rule model. At the concert the brother took off his shirt and explained a speech of if does not matter if you are black or white or if you have tattoos it does not judge your character. Race is not a choice and he is right that should not matter but the tattoos are a choice. I also once read an article that Miley was not allowed to get braces because her father said she was perfect the way she was but why would he allow his children to cover their bodies in unecessary tattoos. I saw the movie and new the name on the concert tickets. I just guess I saw Miley for the actor she is and not the person she truely is. The actor is who I would like my daughter to remember her as and hope that she will realizes the effect she has on our young children.

  2. Saw Miley on Tour
    November 6, 2009 9:28 pm | #2

    I heard President Obama's kids loved Miley's concert!

  3. Seth
    November 7, 2009 3:25 pm | #3

    Sexploitation.
    I agree with other people on here. Fact is Miley should have probably told people she was gearing towards an older audience because her act is more mature. She is more like Britney, or Pussy cat dolls.
    I believe that true feminity is being lost in American culture and doesn't exist anymore. There is no way for American girls to grow up without being exposed to it. So not taking your kids to the concert wouldn't prevent them from being exposed to sex at an early age. It is everywhere. On tv commericals. It is at the super markets while they are waiting by your side. The fact of the matter is that sex sells in this country and the more sexed up Miley can get, the better she will be in terms of money! She isn't doing anyhting wrong except just conforming to what society says people want to see. So don't blame Miley, if you want to blame someone, blame the media and popular American Culture.

    Right now I'm going back to watching a concert DVD Palmy rhythm of the times from 2002, a Thailand singer who doesn't use sex to sell. She's as genuinely feminine as it gets.

  4. Mary Ann
    November 7, 2009 9:58 pm | #4

    @Mary Ann
    We just came home from the concert she started singing at 8:10pm and tried to end at 9:10 (1 hour??!!) the first encore was about 9:15 and the show ened at 9:30. I'm used to Bon Jovi and others who play for hours…I felt it was way too short. I didn't think the outfits were bad at all, she had stockings underneath and she also did not do offensive moves. My daughter had a great time. I didn't think Metro Station was good at all. I understand that she wants to help her brother but he came accross as an amateur and his tattooos were disturbing. All in all it was a fun show and she sounded great my only criticism was how short it was and there were too many costume changes I started wondering if it was a fashion show. I don't think she strayed too far from her Hannah persona there were absolutely NO Hannah songs and the Hoedown Throwdown was too short.

  5. Kristina
    November 8, 2009 9:41 am | #5

    @Justine
    well she is getting older and she isn't playing stuff for little kids anymore. metro station isn't going to make up some random songs that have no meaning to them just for these little kids that don't know them. they already changed some of the lyrics for the show.

  6. Kristina
    November 8, 2009 9:48 am | #6

    @Mary Ann
    Metro Station was amazing, she didnt need to help them they are big as is. They have been wanting to tour together for a long time and they finally got their wish. She sang two hannah montana songs. There was a lot of costume change cause each song has a different meaning and she wants us to understand her better.

  7. luanne
    November 8, 2009 4:05 pm | #7

    My husband and I saw the show at Penn State with our nine year old. We were all impressed. It was a little more adult than we expected, but not in a trashy way. Her voice was strong, and there was always something cool going on on stage. My husband expected a more innocent show, but I reminded him this is a Miley show, not a Hannah show. The only thing I did not like was the opening band. Her brother's band Metrostation did a half hour set, they are not very good, and he unwisely removed his shirt for the last song. I did not need to see his tattoo scarred torso, and I know the little girls around me didn't either. Overall we had a great time, and my daughter will be talking about her first concert for a long time.

  8. Kristina
    November 10, 2009 6:47 am | #8

    I took my daughter to her concert last night, I was quite shocked by the number of little (4-5 year old) girls there in Hannah Montana outfits, with HM signs. This WAS not a Hanna Montana concert. Her Best of Both Worlds tour was the beginning of the break from HM, and that was followed with a Miley album, a small tour last year that only hit small venues like the MGM at Foxwoods Casino, and another Miley album this year. It was sad at the end to see all these little girls crying because there was no Hannah songs performed, but that is the parents fault for not making sure what they were buying was age appropriate. The opening act-Metro Station- should have been enough to let them know this wasn't appropriate for a 5 year old. The singer is covered in tattoos from chin to ankle. There was one song Miley did a duet with her brother, the singer of Metro Station-and he was doing a death metal scream, this must have put the HM fans over the edge! We went knowing it was Miley, and we were both very happy with the show. But my daughter knows that Miley is a rock star and what she does is not appropriate for her and would never try to dress as scantily as miley does in her show. We also discuss the differences in how she acts on stage and in real life. You don't see pictures of Miley riding her bike in short shorts, you see her in sweats. People need to start taking responsibility for their children and stop blaming others for being bad influences.

  9. Susan
    November 10, 2009 7:40 am | #9

    I took mt daughter to the Boston concert last night. Not an appropriate concert for young children!

  10. Kelly
    November 10, 2009 9:38 am | #10

    My 8 year old daughter and I saw the St. Louis concert on Oct. 28th. She was extremely disappointed and I was horrified! I agree with you Indy 100%. Well said!

  11. Saw Miley on Tour
    November 11, 2009 12:30 am | #11

    I am getting tired of everyone dumping on Miley's brother Trace. He has performed here in Portland to a full house at the Roseland theater. He's been touring and playing dates professionaly for about two years. Metro Station's first album went to #1 on Billboards electronic albums chart. If you consider his band just noise, that's cool, but that doesn't mean he's unprofessional. Although I, at first, thought his touring with Miley was an "interesting" choice, I've totally warmed up to the idea. All these shocked comments by parents have made me realize Metro Station was a good choice to jar some sensibilities, in order to get people more used to the Rock and Roll that's coming next. Well played Miley. Trace's tatoos help us to be better people by learning not to judge people who are different from us so harshly. Thanks Trace.

  12. November 11, 2009 12:52 pm | #12

    My husband loved it.!!! LOL…The girls…well not so much.
    I know it was not going to be the "hannah Montana" type of concert…
    IT WAS much different then expected and you could tell she didn't really have a "style" of music anymore.
    There was a lot to look at during the concert which was great….other wise I would have thought I was at a punk rock, cindy lauper, stevie nicks, axel rose..type of concert….LOL
    My girls did not complain though…but they were in awe and love Miley. The one thing I noticed though is that they haven't listened to her music since the concert monday night!
    I went to the concert in Boston MA and it was really really loud and I didn't think she sang too well! Still love her though. I really did NOT enjoy her brother one bit….but he seemed to reflex the type of concert it was going to be…..

  13. November 11, 2009 1:02 pm | #13

    I found myself wondering what drugs they both took before the concert?

  14. Mary Ann
    November 15, 2009 8:20 pm | #14

    @Saw Miley on Tour
    I grew up in the 80"s with REAL rock bands and I can tell you that Metro Station doesn't even come close. It was a lot of screaching and screaming and yes…noise. Awful just awful. I read the reviews and therefore only showed up to the arena for the last 4 songs of MS thankfully. I also don't think that MS was similar to Miley at all…she was a real professional and someone to watch in the coming years.

  15. Chanda
    November 15, 2009 11:09 pm | #15

    I just came home from the concert in Cleveland. I have to say that I was very uncomfortable and put back by what I saw. I am a very open-minded person and am very open and honest with my daughter (9). She was dressed very scantly…she was very permiscuous… and quite frankly made me feel a bit uneasy. I just thought that maybe they would have put some kind of warning when purchasing the tickets to let parents know that this was not a Hananh Montana/Miley thing. Otherwise had I had my husband with me we could have sat back and enjoyed…. but with 10,000 4-5 year olds it was a bit off-putting….

  16. Todd
    November 16, 2009 10:31 pm | #16

    I took my 6 year old daughter to the concert this evening. While we had a very nice evening together, it was embarrassing the way Metro Station played to the audience, as if it were only made up of teens and adults. It was fairly sad to see a lot of the young girls disappointed. The frustrating thing, and I realize she is not "Hannah Montana" anymore, is that the concert was not promoted to a more mature audience. The Cyrus family is an amazing marketing empire. If they would have said only Miley songs would be played, and if they had indicated that Metro Station would open, many parents, including me, would not have purchased them. BTW, whether it was a TV show or not, she still sang the Hannah Montana songs. It is ridiculous to separate them from everything she does from here on out. They, and her wonderful personality, are what propelled her into stardom in the first place. I think Miley is an amazing talent, but for those of you that say the concert was not geared toward young girls, consider this fact: Unlike concerts for teens and adults, this one began at 7:00 and was over at 9:30pm. Miley wanted her old fans (young children) to show up. I believe that was an unwise decision, but she is laughing all the way to the bank.

  17. Saw Miley on Tour
    November 18, 2009 6:53 pm | #17

    There is no paperless ticketing at Miley's U.K. tour dates. The result is scalpers went it and her shows were "sellouts". Tickets outside of London are going for much higher than base cost, but in London, she's been able to keep the prices on the secondary market to about twice the face value of the tickets by adding shows (now five). Miley has actually left some money on the table to keep the tickets at face value for her fans (well over a million dollars total for her entire tour). The downside is, since the paperless system is in it's infancy, people can't resell them. I think this works great for the vast majority of her fans, but I was wondering if the people who didn't 100% love everything about her show, would want her to ditch paperless in the future, even if it meant higher ticket prices. Then you could resell your face value tickets easily, and maybe get most of your money back if you bought inflated tickets. There's no way I can think of to get a heads up of what a tour will be like before the tickets break, unless artists start giving critics access to the tour rehearsal, which won't help musical acts, and could hurt them, so it's not going to happen. Also, m

  18. Saw Miley on Tour
    November 18, 2009 7:00 pm | #18

    …Also, movie critics rarely, if ever, give me the information I need to make a buying decision, so why would concert reviews be any different. Even live theater reviews don't tell you if there is foul language used in the show, for instance. Hint: don't go see "Sugarbabies".

  19. me
    November 19, 2009 8:56 am | #19

    we are going to the Miley Cyrus concert this coming weekend and the only reason my 12 year old daughter agreed to go was because it was not going to be a "Hannah" thing…you people really need to read the ticket info before purchasing.

  20. Judy
    November 23, 2009 7:31 am | #20

    @Mom in Charlotte, NC
    It is NOT what you will want your little ones to see. I just took my 9 year old last night and was appalled by it. I hate to sound like an old fogey but little girls do not need to see a Miley Cyrus who dresses like a you know what and dances like a you know what. The opening act was annoying and too loud. Her brother did so much self promoting it was sickening. I felt like I was at a bad punk rock, rock concert.
    Jus be warned……..it is not Hannah!

  21. Judy
    November 23, 2009 7:35 am | #21

    I have to totally agree with you after going to her concert last night. VERY DISAPPOINTING. We will never go to another one of her concerts. Hello Taylor Swift!

  22. Karen
    November 23, 2009 8:47 am | #22

    We saw Miley last night in Greensboro NC and were disappointed. Miley disrespected her fans with her lude behavior. She took advantage of her young girl fans. When she earns an older audience, then she can perform for an older audience. I don't care what name she wants to go by, to bump and grind showing all that God gave her, to a crowd of little girls is ridiculous. Middle aged men would enjoy the show. All she was missing was the poll. We love Miley as a person and care for her. But she needs to know how the people that have made her who she is today, feel about her performance. I went to see Daughtry last week and it was a real rock concert. It would've been more appropriate for my 6 and 8 year old girls than Miley's current tour. I will not allow my children to follow her while she behaves this way.

  23. Disgusted
    November 23, 2009 12:43 pm | #23

    I took my 13 year old daughter to see Miley in Greensboro last night and I was very DISAPPOINTED. Metro Station was HORRIBLE and rude for saying 'if the parents don't like them they just need to get over it'. Trace is NASTY looking and who would want their teenager to look at something so Disgusting as he is? I was expection a fun, clean concert to enjoy with my daughter but this was TRASH. I will never purchase another ticket or anything concerning Miley. I lost all interest and respect for her!!! My daughter was very disappointed in seeing her – a sex craved slut. How could Billy Ray be proud of that?? And she waited until the last 2 minutes of her show to even adknowledge the death of the bus driver. TRASH TRASH TRASH

  24. miley-fan
    November 23, 2009 1:26 pm | #24

    Hey Miley.
    Please come to frankfurt/main in germany i love you so much and you are my idol.You have here so much fans and im your biggest.

    PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE…!!!!!

    Your Fan.♥

  25. Saw Miley on Tour
    November 23, 2009 1:54 pm | #25

    You guys calling Miley trash are going to hell.

  26. Tiffany
    November 23, 2009 5:46 pm | #26

    I went to the concert in Greensboro last night and I thought it was amazing! And I love how all the parents on here were complaining about how she was dressed…did you not look at the 5 and 6 year olds around you? I saw kids last night dressed worse then Miley. Personally, I loved Miley's clothes and I don't think they were that revealing. She's not Hannah Montana anymore and parents should have realized this was NOT a HM concert. Miley did an amazing job!

  27. MamaKitty
    November 24, 2009 11:56 am | #27

    We saw Sunday's show in Greensboro, NC. This was a birthday present for my 11-year-old. She has loved Miley since the beginning, read and loved her book, and wants to become a singer like her. I was online as soon as Miley World pre-sale tickets went on sale and bought the best available seats. I bought 3 tickets so that she could bring a friend. Even I was looking forward to seeing Miley as we had enjoyed her show from her first tour, and the concert movie was wonderful. I like rock and pop, and enjoy going to concerts. We could not get tickets to the Best of Both Worlds tour, last year, so I was pleased to see paperless tickets for this show. The closest venue was a 5 hour drive, so we made a mini-vacation out of it. Here is the good, the bad, and the ugly of the show:

    Highlights: The ballad 'Bottom of the Ocean', Miley looked elegant in a lovely gown, her voice sounded angelic, and the effects were beautiful. The 'Thriller' bit was well done and a fun surprise. Best moment was the flying red Harley, with Miley all smiles as she 'rode' through the air around the audience. The last song of the night, Miley looked the most like her wholesome self, as she spoke to the audience about the tour bus driver that had tragically died just 2 days before on the way to our Greensboro show.

    The Good: It was the day before Miley's birthday and they were letting some of the girls in the audience record 'happy birthday' video messages to her. That was a sweet start. Miley put on a slick production with top-notch band members and dancers. Special effects, flying and props added to the entertainment. Miley sounded good live, and looked beautiful. There were glimpses of the sweet girl when she would make eye contact with a fan and Miley's face would light up with her trademark smile (but there were surprisingly few of these moments of connection made with the audience.)

    The Not-So-Good: This is not the Miley you knew and loved. She showed her 'other side' during the last tour, but that other side was just fun and flirty Miley, a little more rock than pop, but still the same audience as her TV persona. Sadly, Miley has gone so far away from her squeaky-clean Disney image as Hannah Montana that she is like a different person. The show was too short. After paying $80 per seat, and driving hours to see her show, we felt like we deserved to hear more songs. And there were plenty of them that she neglected to perform from her own Miley songs, while she threw in songs that most of the kids — and kids are her core audience — did not even recognize. Why leave out Butterfly Fly Away and only do a mini-clip of Hoedown Throwdown? Also, Miley did not engage the audience, in fact she rarely spoke to us between songs.

    The Bad: Forget Hannah Montana — the only hint of her at the show was a rocked-up version of Let's Get Crazy. Miley did not project the charming, wholesome image we have come to love. We saw her when she toured with Cheetah Girls 3 years ago, so we had some expectations about her performance that were definitely a disappointment. Miley's wardrobe was borderline inappropriate. Too revealing, too sexy, for a 17-year-old who is idolized by little girls. She has perfect legs and a nice figure, and certainly showed less than a bikini would, but the style of some of the outfits was more Pussycat Dolls than it really needed to be. In addition, Miley's dancing was a bit too suggestive at times. I'm sure the younger girls were confused by her sexy writhing on the floor, her sensual moves with her band and dancers, the odd screams she threw in 2-3 times, and the tongue flick that she directed at one cast member front and center at the start of the show. No cursing or inappropriate remarks from Miley thank goodness. But Miley seemed to be purposely rejecting any idea of innocence, forgetting that most of her fans ARE young innocent girls. Combine the bustier and hot pants outfits with Miley's sexually-charged dancing, and it just wasn't the right thing for her CURRENT audience. I'm hoping Miley doesn't go down the path that Britney Spears fell into, but this show suggest that she might. I don't understand why she would choose this route, when stars like Taylor Swift have shown that staying true to what made you successful will keep you at the top, with no apologies. I'm not sure that her next tour will sell out, unless she manages to attract a completely new and more mature audience, such as those that enjoy P!nk and similar acts. This seems to be her goal, but it is too early to tell if that will happen. I will speculate that, once the final season of HM is done, we will never see her beloved image again in Miley Cyrus.

    The Ugly: The opening act/Miley's brother! YUCK! Talk about a repulsive freak show. Covered in tattoos, with a mediocre band, Miley should have left him at home. He was just gross, and very innappropriate to put it mildly. One of the songs said something about he knows you want to take your clothes off! Then he addressed the parents, saying that they looked 'shocked and upset, and they needed to get over it!' Then he wiped the sweat off his nasty self and threw the towel into the audience, as if any of those sweet girls wanted that disgusting thing anywhere near them! Metro Station does not belong at a Miley Cyrus concert, at least not the Miley we were expecting. I wish she had toured with Selena Gomez and The Scene or some other decent appropriate band.

    Bottom line: this was a mixed feeling. A good but too-short show, and if you are expecting the Miley from her Best of Both Worlds concert, you should stay home. This show will NOT make up for missing that show, and will shock many parents and leave many young fans disappointed. The show in itself without that expectation was entertaining and well done (other than the opening act of course). I would recommend the show only if you understand and are OK with what you will see. Remember the episode of HM where Hannah is trying to find her 'next next', and dons a punk outfit to perform a heavy metal style song? It was meant to be funny, but Miley seems to have taken that episode seriously. And I'm not sure that her 'next' is what her fans (or their parents who spend the money) really want. Would I have gone through this much time, effort, and money to take my daughter to see Miley if I knew the show would be like this? Probably, but only because an 11-year-old doesn't understand that her idol has changed unless she sees it herself. But we won't bother again.

    Fav moment: This was a birthday present for my 11-year-old. She has loved Miley since the beginning, read and loved her book, and wants to become a singer like her. I was online as soon as Miley World pre-sale tickets went on sale and bought the best available seats. I bought 3 tickets so that she could bring a friend. Even I was looking forward to seeing Miley as we had enjoyed her show from her first tour, and the concert movie was wonderful. I like rock and pop, and enjoy going to concerts. We could not get tickets to the Best of Both Worlds tour, last year, so I was pleased to see paperless tickets for this show. The closest venue was a 5 hour drive, so we made a mini-vacation out of it. Here is the good, the bad, and the ugly of the show:

    Highlights: The ballad 'Bottom of the Ocean', Miley looked elegant in a lovely gown, her voice sounded angelic, and the effects were beautiful. The 'Thriller' bit was well done and a fun surprise. Best moment was the flying red Harley, with Miley all smiles as she 'rode' through the air around the audience. The last song of the night, Miley looked the most like her wholesome self, as she spoke to the audience about the tour bus driver that had tragically died just 2 days before on the way to our Greensboro show.

    The Good: It was the day before Miley's birthday and they were letting some of the girls in the audience record 'happy birthday' video messages to her. That was a sweet start. Miley put on a slick production with top-notch band members and dancers. Special effects, flying and props added to the entertainment. Miley sounded good live, and looked beautiful. There were glimpses of the sweet girl when she would make eye contact with a fan and Miley's face would light up with her trademark smile (but there were surprisingly few of these moments of connection made with the audience.)

    The Not-So-Good: This is not the Miley you knew and loved. She showed her 'other side' during the last tour, but that other side was just fun and flirty Miley, a little more rock than pop, but still the same audience as her TV persona. Sadly, Miley has gone so far away from her squeaky-clean Disney image as Hannah Montana that she is like a different person. The show was too short. After paying $80 per seat, and driving hours to see her show, we felt like we deserved to hear more songs. And there were plenty of them that she neglected to perform from her own Miley songs, while she threw in songs that most of the kids — and kids are her core audience — did not even recognize. Why leave out Butterfly Fly Away and only do a mini-clip of Hoedown Throwdown? Also, Miley did not engage the audience, in fact she rarely spoke to us between songs.

    The Bad: Forget Hannah Montana — the only hint of her at the show was a rocked-up version of Let's Get Crazy. Miley did not project the charming, wholesome image we have come to love. We saw her when she toured with Cheetah Girls 3 years ago, so we had some expectations about her performance that were definitely a disappointment. Miley's wardrobe was borderline inappropriate. Too revealing, too sexy, for a 17-year-old who is idolized by little girls. She has perfect legs and certainly showed less than a bikini would, but the style of some of the outfits was more Pussycat Dolls than it really needed to be. I'm hoping Miley doesn't go down the path that Britney Spears fell into, but the costumes suggest that she might. In addition, Miley's dancing was a bit too suggestive at times. I'm sure the younger girls were confused by her sexy writhing on the floor, her sensual moves with her band and dancers, the odd screams she threw in 2-3 times, and the tongue flick that she directed at one cast member front and center at the start of the show. No cursing or inappropriate remarks from Miley thank goodness. But Miley seemed to be purposely rejecting any idea of innocence, forgetting that most of her fans ARE young innocent girls. I don't understand why she would choose this route, when stars like Taylor Swift have shown that staying true to what made you successful will keep you at the top, with no apologies. I'm not sure that her next tour will sell out, unless she manages to attract a completely new and more mature audience, such as those that enjoy P!nk and similar acts. This seems to be her goal, but it is too early to tell if that will happen. I will speculate that, once the final season of HM is done, we will never see her beloved image again in Miley Cyrus.

    The Ugly: The opening act/Miley's brother! YUCK! Talk about a repulsive freak show. Covered in tattoos, with a mediocre band, Miley should have left him at home. He was just gross, and very innappropriate to put it mildly. One of the songs said something about he knows you want to take your clothes off! Then he addressed the parents, saying that they looked 'shocked and upset, and they needed to get over it!' Then he wiped the sweat off his nasty self and threw the towel into the audience, as if any of those sweet girls wanted that disgusting thing anywhere near them! Metro Station does not belong at a Miley Cyrus concert, at least not the Miley we were expecting. I wish she had toured with Selena Gomez and The Scene or some other decent appropriate band.

    Bottom line: this was a mixed feeling. A good but too-short show, and if you are expecting the Miley from her Best of Both Worlds concert, you should stay home. This show will NOT make up for missing that show, and will shock many parents and leave many young fans disappointed. The show in itself without that expectation was entertaining and well done (other than the opening act of course). I would recommend the show only if you understand and are OK with what you will see. Remember the episode of HM where Hannah is trying to find her 'next next', and dons a punk outfit to perform a heavy metal style song? It was meant to be funny, but Miley seems to have taken that episode seriously. And I'm not sure that her 'next' is what her fans (or their parents who spend the money) really want. Would I have gone through this much time, effort, and money to take my daughter to see Miley if I knew the show would be like this? Probably, but only because an 11-year-old doesn't understand that her idol has changed unless she sees it herself. And she liked the new Miley enough to wear her souvenir concert T for the past 2 days. But I don't anticipate attending another Miley show unless she comes to our own venue.

  28. MamaKitty
    November 24, 2009 12:04 pm | #28

    We saw Sunday's show in Greensboro, NC. This was a birthday present for my 11-year-old. She has loved Miley since the beginning, read and loved her book, and wants to become a singer like her. I was online as soon as Miley World pre-sale tickets went on sale and bought the best available seats. I bought 3 tickets so that she could bring a friend. Even I was looking forward to seeing Miley as we had enjoyed her show from her first tour, and the concert movie was wonderful. I like rock and pop, and enjoy going to concerts. We could not get tickets to the Best of Both Worlds tour, last year, so I was pleased to see paperless tickets for this show. The closest venue was a 5 hour drive, so we made a mini-vacation out of it. Here is the good, the bad, and the ugly of the show:

    Highlights: The ballad 'Bottom of the Ocean', Miley looked elegant in a lovely gown, her voice sounded angelic, and the effects were beautiful. The 'Thriller' bit was well done and a fun surprise. Best moment was the flying red Harley, with Miley all smiles as she 'rode' through the air around the audience. The last song of the night, Miley looked the most like her wholesome self, as she spoke to the audience about the tour bus driver that had tragically died just 2 days before on the way to our Greensboro show.

    The Good: It was the day before Miley's birthday and they were letting some of the girls in the audience record 'happy birthday' video messages to her. That was a sweet start. Miley put on a slick production with top-notch band members and dancers. Special effects, flying and props added to the entertainment. Miley sounded good live, and looked beautiful. There were glimpses of the sweet girl when she would make eye contact with a fan and Miley's face would light up with her trademark smile (but there were surprisingly few of these moments of connection made with the audience.)

    The Not-So-Good: This is not the Miley you knew and loved. She showed her 'other side' during the last tour, but that other side was just fun and flirty Miley, a little more rock than pop, but still the same audience as her TV persona. Sadly, Miley has gone so far away from her squeaky-clean Disney image as Hannah Montana that she is like a different person. The show was too short. After paying $80 per seat, and driving hours to see her show, we felt like we deserved to hear more songs. And there were plenty of them that she neglected to perform from her own Miley songs, while she threw in songs that most of the kids — and kids are her core audience — did not even recognize. Why leave out Butterfly Fly Away and only do a mini-clip of Hoedown Throwdown? Also, Miley did not engage the audience, in fact she rarely spoke to us between songs.

    The Bad: Forget Hannah Montana — the only hint of her at the show was a rocked-up version of Let's Get Crazy. Miley did not project the charming, wholesome image we have come to love. We saw her when she toured with Cheetah Girls 3 years ago, so we had some expectations about her performance that were definitely a disappointment. Miley's wardrobe was borderline inappropriate. Too revealing, too sexy, for a 17-year-old who is idolized by little girls. She has perfect legs and certainly showed less than a bikini would, but the style of some of the outfits was more Pussycat Dolls than it really needed to be. I'm hoping Miley doesn't go down the path that Britney Spears fell into, but the costumes suggest that she might. In addition, Miley's dancing was a bit too suggestive at times. I'm sure the younger girls were confused by her sexy writhing on the floor, her sensual moves with her band and dancers, the odd screams she threw in 2-3 times, and the tongue flick that she directed at one cast member front and center at the start of the show. No cursing or inappropriate remarks from Miley thank goodness. But Miley seemed to be purposely rejecting any idea of innocence, forgetting that most of her fans ARE young innocent girls. I don't understand why she would choose this route, when stars like Taylor Swift have shown that staying true to what made you successful will keep you at the top, with no apologies. I'm not sure that her next tour will sell out, unless she manages to attract a completely new and more mature audience, such as those that enjoy P!nk and similar acts. This seems to be her goal, but it is too early to tell if that will happen. I will speculate that, once the final season of HM is done, we will never see her beloved image again in Miley Cyrus.

    The Ugly: The opening act/Miley's brother! YUCK! Talk about a repulsive freak show. Covered in tattoos, with a mediocre band, Miley should have left him at home. He was just gross, and very innappropriate to put it mildly. One of the songs said something about he knows you want to take your clothes off! Then he addressed the parents, saying that they looked 'shocked and upset, and they needed to get over it!' Then he wiped the sweat off his nasty self and threw the towel into the audience, as if any of those sweet girls wanted that disgusting thing anywhere near them! Metro Station does not belong at a Miley Cyrus concert, at least not the Miley we were expecting. I wish she had toured with Selena Gomez and The Scene or some other decent appropriate band.

    Bottom line: this was a mixed feeling. A good but too-short show, and if you are expecting the Miley from her Best of Both Worlds concert, you should stay home. This show will NOT make up for missing that show, and will shock many parents and leave many young fans disappointed. The show in itself without that expectation was entertaining and well done (other than the opening act of course). I would recommend the show only if you understand and are OK with what you will see. Remember the episode of HM where Hannah is trying to find her 'next next', and dons a punk outfit to perform a heavy metal style song? It was meant to be funny, but Miley seems to have taken that episode seriously. And I'm not sure that her 'next' is what her fans (or their parents who spend the money) really want. Would I have gone through this much time, effort, and money to take my daughter to see Miley if I knew the show would be like this? Probably, but only because an 11-year-old doesn't understand that her idol has changed unless she sees it herself. And she liked the new Miley enough to wear her souvenir concert T for the past 2 days. But I don't anticipate attending another Miley show unless she comes to our own venue.

  29. Meghan
    November 25, 2009 3:55 am | #29

    Wow,I can't believe that people are actually saying that she sings well live. Let be HONEST people she sings HORRIBLE live. Ive seen some excellent voices live (Celine Dion, Christina Aguleria, etc.) and Miley isn't even close to them by a LONG SHOT. Sorry, grow up and realize what true talent is. I realize the people that are saying she has a good voice are probably teenagers, so give it a few years and their opinions will change.

    As far as the concert goes. I saw her last night in Charlotte and I was VERY dissapointed. The concert was WAY too short. She needs to practice her non-existant dance moves and put on some clothes. Im not saying that she needs to cover up completley, but you can still dress sexy, cute, etc and still be tasteful. There are plenty of artists that do so. She also had no interaction with her audience and she rushed through half the songs and then cut some short as well. What was the point of asking everyone to "get on their feet" and then play one verse from a song? That was pointless.

    I understand that she is trying to change her target audience to a more mature audience, but she needs to do a better transition than that. Give it some time..she is the next Britney, we all know her painful fate!

  30. Georgina
    November 25, 2009 10:24 am | #30

    I doubt that she is crap I think she is starting to grow up and prove herself that she is not Hannah Montana and she is becoming a singer in her own right. She is alright to do whatever she wants in concert it is her show. But I am looking forward to seeing her on the 28th December 2009 in Manchester!!!! :D :) ;)

  31. Angela
    November 25, 2009 6:14 pm | #31

    We attend the Charlotte,NC concert last night and Miley is AWESOME. I did see alot of "HM" young girls all dressed up and this was not a HM concert. IT IS MILEY CYRUS. I felt it was all appropriate and she is on her way to great career. I will buy tickets again and take my girls again. I disagree with alot of you guys. HM is on her way out and Miley is on stage. I do agree I did not like the Metro Station they are horrible!!! Too loud and too hard rock to open for Miley. I had never even heard of them before last night and frankly wish I had not.
    All in all we had a great experience and cant wait to do it again. And my girls understood and WANTED to see Miley NOT HM…..they are growing up and understand what she wears on stage is all for the show….its up to us parents to teach our children that and its not for everyday going out in public dress like Britney…..
    I will definitely take my girls again….we had a blast!!!!

  32. Adrienne
    November 26, 2009 8:29 pm | #32

    Can anyone tell me how much a Miley Cyrus T-shirt is? My daughter is going to the concert(on Saturday night 11/28) with a friend and not sure how much money to send her with.

  33. DmH
    November 28, 2009 9:57 am | #33

    COME ON PEOPLE MILEY IS SEVENTEEN YEARS OLD! she is not the little kid she was when she started Hannah Montana. This is a Miley Cyrus concert NOT a Hannah Montana concert. Miley is just a celebrity doing what celebrities do and if this is not what you want to see don't buy a ticket. Taking my daughter tonight and I am sure she will love it, she is going to see MILEY not HANNAH.

  34. Gail
    November 29, 2009 10:11 pm | #34

    Show is a disappointment for my girls. Concert in Atlanta wasn't well organized.

  35. Anna Cathryn
    November 30, 2009 11:08 pm | #35

    it's your fault if you went to the concert and didn't like it! get over it if it was too raunchy! she has the right to do whatever she wants at her own concerts. i am personally happy that none of you are going to buy any more tickets from her shows because she doesn't want those little girls there anymore. i am 16 and i went with my friends and we LOVED it. we all decided we would definitely give up christmas presents to see her show again in a different city! so, for all of you out there who aren't overly conservative IT WAS AMAZING. she sounded great and she acted like any 17 year old would. i am actually proud of her for doing her show like this! it was exactly how she wanted it to be and she didn't care what anyone thought about it! Miley we love you and you're teenage fans definitely enjoyed the show it was an amazing night and you are a great performer! i was alert and having fun the entire time. and metro station was AMAZING. it was all together a great show and i loved every second of it! THANK YOU for coming to Memphis! please come back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  36. Miley Fan
    December 1, 2009 6:33 pm | #36

    Seriously if you were a parent of a child younger than 15 your just plain stupid for takin your child to this concert! Apparently you didnt read the name of the tickets when you bought them!! it was a MILEY CYRUS concert not a hannah montana concert!! SHE SINGS MILEY CYRUS SONGS NOT HANNAH MONTANA ONES!!!!! and apaerently you didnt even read about the concert even miley said in an interview she wasnt going to sing any hannah montana songs because it was just a MILEY CYRUS concert and she was glad to get away from the hannah persona!!! when i went to this concert i was the only one who knew all the words!!!! it was crazy because their were all these little girls there with their moms hoping for a hannah montana concert and it obviously wasnt!! i hate it how you all blame miley for your mistakes!! you should have known more about miley and her music befor taking your daughter!!! im a 17 year old miley fan and i was so excited for this concert and when i got their there were all just little kids and half of them had HANNAH MONTANA shirts on!! and dont diss metro station!! you should have looked up and seen who metro station was before taking your daughter to this concert!! yeah their an emo band with some awesome songs!!! AND TRACE IS MILEYS BROTHER so it was great that she went on concert with him!!!! miley cyrus is a 17 year old TEENAGER who has one more season left of hannah montana and then shes done with the little fans who call her hannah!!!(thankgod!!) so dont blame anyone but your self for what you saw at this concert!! i thought it was perfect!!! miley has a great voice and she did great and SHE DRESSED JUST LIKE ANY OTHER 17 YEAR OLD GIRL DOES!!!! do u not walk around the beach during the summer!!! ive seen 250 pund women wearing what miley was wearing!! so dont go dissing miley just balme your self for not knowing that this was a MILEY CYRUS CONCERT!!!!!

  37. Reed
    December 2, 2009 9:50 am | #37

    My brother is one of her ten dancers and personaly i think she has made a bigger name for herself and this is not a little kid show anymore. for the parents who complain is dumb, Reason: research the tour before you take your little kid to the show before you start complaining about how it was to adult?? there was not all that much in this show that a 10 year old has not seen before. QUIT THE CRYING!!

  38. Anna Cathryn
    December 3, 2009 1:54 am | #38

    THANK YOU miley fan!!!! you are totally right! i hate all these stupid moms who are mad at miley cyrus for her concert. that makes no sense! you cannot get mad at someone for their concert.. sorry for you but you wasted your own money SUCKS FOR YOU! it was a teenage show and every teenager that went loved it!

  39. Almida
    December 5, 2009 4:06 pm | #39

    Okay, for all the ones who complain on what cloths Miley wear and how she has progressed HELLO!?! DO YOU THINK AT ALL?? You knew that it was a MILEY show and not a Hannah show… and I'm sorry to say this but HANNAH IS A CHARACTER ON A TV-SHOW. So please just stop complaining!! She isn't a child anymore. She is 17 years old!! And please let the girl have her own life! If she want to have a wig and allot of makeup and crazy cloths or just want to be herself with her cloth stile well that's up to her!! And if you should have read like a sentence about this tour you would see that Metro Station is going to be there. And if I had a kid who was, let’s say, 5 years old I would have checked who was going to be there and if you don’t like the fact that Trace has tattoos all over his body… WELL DON’T GO TO THE TOUR!!! PLEASE AREN’T YOU GUYS SUPPOSED TO BE ADULTS!!
    So can you act like it!?!
    Miley Cyrus Wonder World Tour Concert is for teenagers not kids and not grownups!! And if you don’t like Miley, well that’s your problem cause you will be missing our time, no what am I saying, ALL TIMES BEST SINGER AND ACTRESS!! Miley is going to be big!! Bigger than she is now and you all know that’s BIG!!

    MILEY IS MILEY AND SHE HAS ALL RIGHT TO BE!! SO PLEASE JUST LET HER BE!!
    And for the ones who think that I’m wrong… please tell me…

  40. Erin
    December 12, 2009 7:19 am | #40

    I am going to see her in london tomorow, and to be quite honest i think that people who did not like the show are people who don't understand that she is MILEY in real life, not hannah montana. It was always going to be a miley show, and parents complaining about metro station should have read the information about the tour before buying tickets. I agree that her brother is shocking, but to blame him for ruining the show is just stupid. I am so excited to see her, as are a lot of my friends, and i think Miley is an inspiration to millions of people, as well as being a genuinly nice person.

  41. sarah
    December 13, 2009 9:33 am | #41

    she is a slut bottom line,,,,and i hope she becomes like britney spears..she is a orrible role model for kids…she needs to go away

  42. random isn't it
    December 14, 2009 11:52 am | #42

    went with girlfriend last night and thought it was going to be crap, metro station surprised me and were very good, and when cyrus cam on, she was actually really good, nothing like what i thought (hannah montana) so i would go to see the show, as long as you understand it is not for kids under age 9, but is more like a real concert, e.g lily allen et pink, but still nowhere near the likes of avenged sevenfold or bring me the horizon

  43. blah blah
    December 14, 2009 2:13 pm | #43

    After seeing Miley last night in London i felt a bit robbed, but i didn't know why and i still can't put my finger on it. to me in some parts it felt like it was a chore for her to be there, i guess singing the same songs over and over for a few months can grate on a person. after reading some comments i think its safe to say that Miley has indeed grown up…go figure?! her voice is amazing and i hope she finds out what genre she wants to stick to cos the whole 'i dont listen to pop music, its not my sort of thing but i'll sing it anyway' was a really stupid thing to say. She's only 16/17 she deserves credit for the show not back handed comments about her brother having the most disgusting tattoos, which he does but thats not the point.

  44. natalie
    December 17, 2009 3:42 am | #44

    @Susan
    i agree with u she still has little kids likin her and she should of done this tour after hannah or wear more betterr clothes shes mi age group

  45. natalie
    December 17, 2009 3:46 am | #45

    @random isn't it
    no shes not she just wants 2 be hrr self i know shes not i but she wears slutty clothes she wants 2 be like beyonce

  46. natalie
    December 17, 2009 3:51 am | #46

    @Kristina
    i agree with u she still has little kids likin her and she should of done this tour after hannah or wear more betterr clothes shes mi age group

  47. natalie
    December 17, 2009 3:52 am | #47

    @sarah
    no shes not she just wants 2 be hrr self i know shes not i but she wears slutty clothes she wants 2 be like beyonce

  48. natalie
    December 17, 2009 3:54 am | #48

    @natalie
    sorry i was meant 2 sent it 2 some 1 else

  49. Karl
    December 17, 2009 7:24 am | #49

    I have just seen the Miley Cyrus concert in Dublin Ireland last night.
    I brought my 5 year old daughter to the show and she loved it. She knows that Hanna Montana and Miley Cyrus are two different acts and she was not expecting to see Hanna.
    It is up to the parents to explain this to the younger childern before going to the concert.
    5 minutes after the show started my daughter was up sing and danceing waving her glow stick.
    I found nothing in the show that was slutty or a bad role model for Kids. I am in my late 30's and found it a great night entermant along with my daughter.
    The people on the site who have put this girl down for not playing Hanna Montana songs for their little angels or complaning about what Miley is wearing etc need to wise up.
    Or are a lot of the American public just to conservator.

  50. Emmma
    December 17, 2009 11:57 am | #50

    shoulddd read the tickets before purchasing,, its MILEY not HANNNAH! GOING TO WATCH HER ON THE 28th SHOULD BE AMAZING :)

Comment pages
  1. No trackbacks yet.
You must be logged in to post a comment.